Wisconsin National Parks

Thanks to the impressive work of glaciers, Wisconsin's National Parks are fun to explore on land and on water. Come #FindYourPark in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin National Parks

Apostle Islands National Lakeshore

Apostle Islands National Lakeshore was designated in 1970 by Congress and encompasses an archipelago of 21 islands and a 12-mile stretch of shoreline off the Bayfield Peninsula in northwestern Wisconsin on Lake Superior. In the park you'll find forests, diverse animal and plant life, and extensive cultural history.

Recreational activities include boating, fishing, SCUBA diving, paddling, hiking, camping, and many others. Tours and shuttles offer trips to the various islands where you can enjoy the beach or a lighthouse tour.

Ice Age National Scenic Trail

The Ice Age National Scenic Trail follows the edge of the last glacier to cover present-day Wisconsin. 15,000 years ago, animals like mammoths, sabre-toothed cats, and cave lions roamed the land along the ice. Today, the 1,200-mile long trail connects various sites of the Ice Age National Scientific Reserve where you can see and learn about the work of the ice over time.

Popular activities in the Park include camping, hiking, backpacking, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, and stargazing. Interpretive Centers can be found along the trail at Kettle Moraine State Forest, Interstate State Park, and Chippewa Moraine State Recreation Area.

Ice Age National Scenic Trail was established in 1980.

Ice Age National Scientific Reserve

The Ice Age National Scientific Reserve was established in 1964 to study and protect the glacial landscapes in Wisconsin. It is a collection of 9 units affiliated with the National Park Service and the Ice Age National Scenic Trail. Those sites are Interstate Park, Saint Croix Falls, Chippewa Moraine, Mill Bluff State Park, Devil's Lake State Park, Cross Plains, Horicon State Wildlife Area and National Wildlife Refuge, Campbellsport Drumlins, Kettle Moraine State Forest, and Two Creeks Buried Forest.

North Country National Scenic Trail - MI, MN, ND, NY, OH, PA, WI

The North Country National Scenic Trail spans eight states and is part of the National Trails System Act signed into law by President Johnson in 1968. The North Country National Scenic Trail was added to the system in 1980 with seven states. Today, New York, Vermont, North Dakota, Michigan, Montana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin host parts of the trail.

There are currently over 1,775 miles of NPS-certified trail with another 500-700 miles yet to be certified. It connects various landscapes, urban districts, historic sites, forests, lakes, canals, towns, and large cities.

Saint Croix National Scenic Riverway - WI, MN

The Saint Croix National Scenic Riverway covers 200 miles of river and waterway through forested parts of Wisconsin and Minnesota, which serves as the natural border between the two states. Boating, paddling, canoeing, camping, fishing, and hiking are all popular activities here.

Click here for a list of things to do at the Saint Croix National Scenic Riverway.